RS:X European and Youth European Championships & Open Trophy || 2017-05-09, Marseille, France || © Copyright 2017 || Robert Hajduk - || All Rights Reserved ||
RS:X European and Youth European Championships – AND THE WINNING NUMBERS ARE….
12 May 2017
2017 Finn European Championship – Results
14 May 2017



Light wind meant no medal race was possible in either of the 470 Women or 470 Men, so the overall standings give both Afrodite Zegers/Anneloes van Veen (NED) and Carl-Fredrik Fock/Marcus Dackhammar (SWE) their first ever European Championship titles.

Final day frustrations for some as any hope of completing a medal race dwindled in the light winds. Whilst the series leaders in both the Men and Women fleets had a handy points advantage, a false move today could have toppled their gold medal hopes. A week of diverse conditions from the extremes of light wind to demanding ferocity of 30+ knots and 4 metre waves rewarded worthy medallists.

When the mountain is high, some teams rise to the top and execute a perfect job, which is exactly the performance by Afrodite Zegers/Anneloes van Veen (NED) here in Monaco.

Speaking after racing, Zegers said, Last year we were happy with the silver medal, as it was the first time at a big event that we had a medal, but this year the goal was to dominate. We have been working really hard after the Games to come up to the next level, and we are happy that this week has ended,” she smiled.

It was a really tough week for us. We started off really bad and we made a huge catch up in the end, and we were really glad to see our weaknesses for the next event.”

The pressure of the wait is a challenge in itself, but at elite level it is all part of the experience.

Actually we have some experience of this,” laughed van Veen. Also in Rio, the medal race day, the first one it didn’t happen. And you just have to go out on the water and try to look around, keep focusing on what is happening with the wind and then suddenly we came back ashore. So we tried to keep ourselves entertained, but now it is over.”

Speaking on the feeling of winning, she added, I was very happy with it. But still on the other side we are really focused on the Worlds this year, but this medal is really nice for us.”

With their back to back wins, Zegers/van Veen are already installed as favourites for the years leading to Tokyo.

Yes, that is what people say,” said Zegers. “But for us it is just important to become the best we can be and the end goal is the Tokyo Olympic Games and we are going to do anything and everything for it. So far, we are just glad to be back and we will keep going.”

Next up for the pair is Delta Lloyd Regatta in Holland.

470 Women – European Medallists
Gold – Afrodite Zegers/Anneloes Van Veen (NED-1)
Silver – Elena Berta/Sveva Carraro (ITA-6)
Bronze – Agnieszka Skrzypulec/Jolanta Ogar (POL-11)

470 Women – Top 10 Overall
1. Afrodite Zegers/Anneloes Van Veen (NED-1) – 49 pts
2. Elena Berta/Sveva Carraro (ITA-6) – 56 pts
3. Agnieszka Skrzypulec/Jolanta Ogar (POL-11) – 62 pts
4. Amy Seabright/Anna Carpenter (GBR-7) – 70 pts
5. Noya Bar-Am/Nina Amir (ISR-11) – 76 pts
6. Silvia Mas Depares/Patricia Cantero Reina (ESP-18) – 76 pts
7. Benedetta Di Salle/Alessandra Dubbini (ITA-74) – 79 pts
8. Gil Cohen/Stav Brokman (ISR-311) – 84 pts
9. Jennifer Poret/Camille Hautefaye (FRA-14) – 85 pts
10. Nadine Boehm/Ann-Christin Goliass (GER-24) – 86 pts

470 MEN
Carl-Fredrik Fock/Marcus Dackhammar (SWE) have been unrelenting in their pursuit of glory here in Monaco. Whaterver the conditions confronting them, they have excelled and dominated from start to finish.

470 Men – European Medallists
Gold – Carl-Fredrik Fock/Marcus Dackhammar (SWE-350)
Silver – Guillaume Pirouelle/Jeremie Mion (FRA-76)
Bronze – Jordi Xammar/Nicolas Rodriguez (ESP-44)

470 Men – Top 10 Overall
1. Carl-Fredrik Fock/Marcus Dackhammar (SWE-350) – 26 pts
2. Guillaume Pirouelle/Jeremie Mion (FRA-76) – 35 pts
3. Mathew Belcher/Will Ryan (AUS-11) – 36 pts
4. Jordi Xammar/Nicolas Rodriguez (ESP-44) – 40 pts
5. Panagiotis Mantis/Pavlos Kagialis (GRE-1) – 50 pts
6. Pavel Sozykin/Denis Gribanov (RUS-5) – 50 pts
7. Vasilis Papoutsoglou/Ioannis Orfanos (GRE-10) – 62 pts
8. Daichi Takayama/Kimihiko Imamura (JPN-4601) – 62 pts
9. Deniz Cinar/Ates Cinar (TUR-890) – 64 pts
10. Giacomo Ferrari/Giulio Calabro (ITA-757) – 71 pts

View full results here

Powered by